This page notes some changes that I’ve thought about making, but haven’t implemented because I’m not entirely convinced they’re good/necessary yet. So I put them here to make sure I don’t forget, and maybe get a second opinion at some point.
Toa Mata LewaEffect MonsterLevel 6 | WIND Warrior | ATK 2200 / DEF 1900
To Tribute Summon this card face-up, you can Tribute a WIND or “Toa Mata” monster in your hand, except “Toa Mata Lewa”, instead of a monster you control. Once per turn, if a monster(s) is Special Summoned from the hand, Main Deck, and/or GY while you control this card: You can target 1 monster on the field; return it to the hand, then, if it was a monster you controlled, you can return 1 additional monster on the field to the hand.
The ability to bounce any monster on the field whenever a Special Summon from an appropriate location occurs can be pretty annoying if you’re on the receiving end, so it might be healthy to give it some more restrictions. I want to keep the generic trigger condition (because it’s part of the Toa Mata design philosophy) and the non-targeting bounce option (because it’s really cool), but maybe requiring the initial target to be a monster other than what was just Summoned would work. That way, bouncing back something right as it comes out has the elevated cost of bouncing one of your own first so you can use the second non-targeting bounce. However, I’m not sure if this wouldn’t be overbalanced, since the current version just seems a bit annoying to play against, rather than legitimately broken.
Great Kanohi KaukauEquip Spell
If another “Kanohi” card becomes equipped to the equipped monster, destroy this card. If the equipped monster is a “Toa” or “Makuta” monster, it is unaffected by your opponent’s card effects, unless they target it. If this card is sent to the GY: You can banish 1 monster from your GY; add 1 “Toa Mata Gali” from your Deck to your hand. You can only use this effect of “Great Kanohi Kaukau” once per turn.
This one is about a mechanical issue rather than balance. If you look at Underworld Goddess, the main example of immunity to non-targeting effects in the official game, you will notice that her protection only extends to activated effects, while the Kaukau covers all effects. This difference means I’m in a bit of a gray area with some rulings – for example, Crackdown is a targeting effect that currently cannot affect a Kaukau-equipped monster because the control change is coded as a separate, non-targeting continuous effect.
This might actually be correct, and if I find solid evidence that it is, I am going to keep this version because continuous effect immunity matches the idea of “protection from environmental effects” I was going for super well. But if it’s wrong, we’ll just have to add that little word “activated” to ensure things work as they should.
Turaga VakamaLink Effect MonsterLink-2 [◀ ▼] | FIRE Spellcaster | ATK 1400
2 monsters, including a FIRE Warrior monster
During your Main Phase: You can activate this effect; each player reveals the top card of their Deck, and if a player revealed a FIRE Warrior monster, they Special Summon that monster. Otherwise, they Special Summon 1 “Vision Token” (Warrior/FIRE/Level 3/ATK 1500/DEF 0) in Attack Position, but it cannot be Tributed or used as material for a Synchro or Link Summon. If a monster is destroyed by battle: Draw 1 card. You can only use each effect of “Turaga Vakama” once per turn.
The effect that draws a card whenever any (other) monster is destroyed by battle might be problematic in that it directly powercreeps any effects that draw when a particular monster runs something over (e.g. the classic Airknight Parshath). Of course, the game is long past the point where effects of that type are really good, but if I really wanted to respectfully leave a niche for those old cards, I’d probably change this one to demand involvement of a FIRE or FIRE Warrior monster (which is conviently provided as a Token anyway). Probably not worth the extra words, though.
Turaga NujuLink Effect MonsterLink-2 [◀ ▶] | WATER Spellcaster | ATK 1100
2 monsters, including a WATER Warrior monster
If this card is Special Summoned: You can target 1 face-up Spell/Trap you control; until the end of the next turn, while you control a WATER monster, that target cannot be destroyed by card effects (even if this card leaves the field). Once per turn: You can target any number of cards your opponent controls; change face-up monsters you control to face-down Defense Position, equal to the number of targeted cards, and if you do, return those targeted cards to the hand.
The protection effect for face-up S/T could probably drop the “face-up” requirement and barely anything would change. It would just add a tiny bit of extra utility.
Turaga NuiEffect MonsterLevel 9 | LIGHT Spellcaster | ATK 2000 / DEF 3000
Cannot be Normal Summoned/Set. Must be Special Summoned by its own effect. You can send this card from your hand and 1 “Noble Kanohi” Equip Spell from your Deck to the GY; reveal 1 “Turaga” Link monster in your Extra Deck, and if you do, Special Summon 1 Level 4 or lower Warrior monster with the same Attribute from your hand. When your opponent activates a card or effect, while you have 6 or more “Turaga” Link Monsters with different names in your GY (Quick Effect): You can Special Summon this card from your GY, and if you do, negate the effects of all face-up cards your opponent currently controls. You can only use each effect of “Turaga Nui” once per turn.
Given the requirement to draw this card and have a Noble Kanohi still in Deck, the first effect would probably fine being able to also Summon at least from the GY. Deck might be excessive without further restrictions, though.
If I wanted to really buff this to take it from a dumb gimmick to a dumb gimmick that almost automatically wins you the game if you pull it off, I’d change the one-time negate on Summon to a continuous negation of all cards your opponent controls while this card is on the field. I just don’t know if I really want that.
Diminished Matoran KaitaXyz Effect MonsterRank 2 | LIGHT Warrior | ATK 1200 / DEF 1500
3 Level 2 “Matoran” monsters
Cannot be destroyed by battle while it has material. If this card is Xyz Summoned: You can detach up to 3 materials with different Attributes from this card, then apply the following effect(s) based on their Attributes, in sequence. You can only use this effect of “Diminished Matoran Kaita” once per turn.
•WIND: Add 1 Level 2 “Matoran” monster from your Deck to your hand.
•WATER: This card cannot be destroyed by card effects. •FIRE: This card gains 1200 ATK.
•EARTH: Draw 1 card. •LIGHT/DARK: Special Summon 1 Level 2 “Matoran” monster from your hand or GY.
Since the introduction of Zeus has increased the value of battle protection on Xyz Monsters, I might have to raise the bar for that to at least 2 materials (so you’re limited to a single effect on Summon).
For the Attribute effect, I’m a bit sceptical about how WIND and LIGHT/DARK combined basically make a Special Summon of any Level 2 Matoran from Deck. Probably fair after investing 3 materials, but could be turned off by simply swapping the order of the effects.
Call of the Toa StonesSpell
Discard 1 card; roll a six-sided die and excavate cards from the top of your Deck equal to the result, and if you do, you can add up to 2 excavated “Toa Mata” monsters with different names to your hand, also shuffle the rest into your Deck. Then, apply the following effect, based on the number of cards added to your hand this way. You can only activate 1 “Call of the Toa Stones” per turn.
●0: Set 1 “Coming of the Toa” directly from your Deck. It can be activated this turn.
●1: Add 1 Level 1 Rock monster with 0 ATK/DEF from your Deck to your hand.
●2: Gain 1800 LP.
The “0” case where you get Coming of the Toa from Deck could get out of hand, specifically the part where it allows you to immediately activate that card. That means a Call in hand, unless you have already summoned a non-“Toa” monster with 2000 or more ATK that turn, can translate into 3 Toa Mata on field if your GY happens to be stacked. Even that is fine if you do it starting from nothing since it gets you a single Kaita at best, but what if you’re already ahead? Widening the gap that easily tends to feel a bit dirty.
My proposed solution would be to qualify the same-turn activation with a condition such as “while you control no monsters with 2000 or more ATK”, mirroring Coming’s own restriction. But that’s an uncomfortable amount of extra words, and I’m not sure it’s worth it just to tone down a hypothetical case where you’re already winning regardless. Then again, we could save a lot of words by making this effect as a whole less convoluted …